Award Categories

Stampede Parade Award Winners



Aside from the thrill of participating in the Calgary Stampede Parade, it’s nice to know that your efforts may also be recognized with one of several awards. Awards are divided into 10 major award categories and 25 minor award categories. A panel of judges will review each entry, based on a list of criteria. They will then select the top three entries.

Major award categories for the Calgary Stampede Parade:

  • Best Overall Entry (President’s Award)
  • Best Western Entry
  • Most Creative Entry
  • Best Corporate Entry
  • Best Business or Non-Profit Entry
  • Best Cultural Entry
  • Best Municipality Entry
  • Best Horse Entry (Ron Berry Memorial)
  • Best Prelude Entry
  • Celebrities' Choice Award

All entries are eligible for major awards, including non-float entries.

In addition, awards are given in the following categories:

  • Pioneers & Descendants Oldest Pioneer Gentleman
  • Oldest Pioneer Lady
  • Pioneer Family of the Year
  • Mounted Colour Parties Best Mounted Colour Party
  • Best Formal Mounted Colour Party
  • Best Commercial Mounted Colour Party
  • Best Heavy Horse Hitch (6 & 8 Horses)
  • Best Heavy Horse Hitch (2 & 4 Horses)
  • Horse Entries Chuckwagons
  • Best Mounted Group Entry
  • Best Fancy Dress Parade Entry
  • Best Western Heritage Entry
  • Best Carriage Entry
  • Pooper Scoopers Best Pooper Scooper (Golden Shovel Award)
The Parade Committee reserves the right to re-assign applicants to different categories for judging purposes.

Contact us


© Calgary Stampede Parade Committee 2009 - 2015

Website by Commerx